2017 Installation of Officers

The Gaslight Chorus Kicks Off a New Year

  posted on Feb 1, 2017

Once again, the Brea Chapter of the Barbershop Harmony Society (aka: The Gaslight Chorus) returned to the exquisite surroundings of the Hacienda Golf Club for its 2017 Installation of Officers and Awards Dinner.   A great time was had by all in attendance as the Chorus reflected upon the prior year and listened to what is planned for the new year. 

Bryan Forbes handled the flow of the evening with skill as our emcee. Numerous awards were delivered to a host of Gaslight members for their fine work during 2016. (See the list below.) Nick Papageorge (Southeast Division VP of the Far Western District) was our installing officer for the event. Nick's portrayal as "Carnac the Magnificent" received roars of laughs as he identified the incoming board members in some unique and creative ways. Props also go to Bryan Forbes as he seemed to channel the spirit of Ed McMahon with his, as some would say, disruptive teasing of "Carnac". 

After the new Board Members were installed, current Chapter President Stephen Henry delivered a well received message to the Chorus charging all of them to bring their best to rehearsals and performances, and reminded everyone that we are all an important part of this great chorus.  Chorus Director Phil Ordaz followed up with a very thought provoking message about stretching our comfort zone and testing our skills. His story about trying music from time to time that may be outside of our traditional "fence" will make us better singers of the 99% of our music that is well within that fence.   

To close out the evening the Chorus took to the risers and performed a number of our repertoire favorites for our guests in attendance. The Chorus even livestreamed one song on Facebook. That performance can be found here -----> FBLive along with lots of other photos of the evening.

The following awards were issued for Calendar Year 2016:

Barbershopper of the Year: Bob Dobson

President's Award: John Saylor

Above and Beyond: Richard Otto

Director's Choice: Jon Sutherland

Freshman Barbershopper of the Year: Justin Barber

Gaslight Spirit: Chase Gray

Attendance: Stephen Henry

Congratulations to all of the above recipients!

Return to the News Page